Skip to content

Meeresbande Zine #2, S. 21 Paper Soup | US judge who beat daughter with belt suspended

17. Mai 2015

21  - Paper soup

I have lived off paper soup for so long, it proves I can do without proper food. So I should not ask for anything else and I should not take it if offered. It is polite to say „No, thanks, I’m fine!“

Today was the first time I remember ever being angry at my „mother“ for serving paper soup and calling it sufficient food for a child. It hurt and confused me. I didn’t understand! When I was very young I still knew what real food was supposed to be like! I knew that I was not supposed to be constantly hungry and weak from lack of food! I knew that my mother should give me proper food. But she didn’t! And every time I asked for it or complained about hunger or even dared to let her see my anger and frustration, she would silence me. She would get angry and irritated and point out that she was preparing the best soup I could reasonably expect of her, explaining that paper was all a child needed and that other children didn’t even have that much! She would complain that I was ungrateful and unjust. She would put on a show of self-pity. She would look at me and say, but paper soup is all I have to offer! Why isn’t that enough for you? She would act wounded and lost. She would ask me to provide her with the necessary ingredients to prepare good food, then explain to her how it is made. If I did that, she ruined the ingredients I brought her (how I even got them I don’t know!) and told me she didn’t understand my instructions and offered me some more paper soup.


US judge who beat daughter with belt suspended

(There was a youTube video of it, how he beat her and yelled at her)
Just wanted to comment on this very telling line of the aggressor:
*Judge Adams is unrepentant, saying, “In my mind I haven’t done anything wrong,” and, “It looks worse than it is.”*

How can HE know how bad it was? I expect it was not as bad as it looks FOR HIM… *sarcasm*
HE can never know and should never be allowed to speculate on how this beating and shouting felt for his daughter! And HER perspective is the only one that counts in this matter! It does not matter what an aggressor thinks about his or her own violence (or whatever he or she may call it) towards another person, the person who had to suffer from the violence is THE  ONLY ONE who can judge how bad it was. This is something that happens very often and makes me very angry, because of course the one who crosses other people’s boundaries, discriminates against others or is flat out violent will almost always rationalize and excuse his or her behavior. Or not even realize what it is they’re doing. It just doesn’t matter. They are not the ones who can judge it, the people who suffer from such behavior are the only ones who can say how it felt for them, how they would categorize the behavior (if they want to) and what effect it had/has on them. People who are on their side can help them in this, but in the end no one can know better than them and everyone who pretends otherwise is committing more violence by belittling their perception and stealing their voice.

No comments yet

Schreibe einen Kommentar

